jump to navigation

2015 in review February 1, 2016

Posted by Maury Markowitz in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

IMG_2487
As you might have noticed I’ve been a little less than active on the blog recently, but I have an excuse, as you can see to the right.

But now that life is returning to something remotely like normalcy, it’s definitely worth a short note on the 2015: the Year that Was.

What a year!

2015_rankings-640x394

Up, up and away!

So 2015, without any surprise, is officially the hottest in recorded history. That’s been true for several years running as worldwide temperatures continue their climb, but in this case it really took the cake, up a staggering 1/4 degree compared to 2014, the previous record holder. I’m sure there’s a coal-lobby paid writer out there somewhere preparing the “hockey stick” complain post as I write this.

I’m sitting here in January in Toronto and it’s about 7 degrees outside. My parents, who live north of the city in the “snow belt” due to the lake effect off of Georgian Bay, can see their driveway. There are robins in the local park, something I have never seen before. Now living in Canada I have a different view of climate change than a lot of the world. Water levels seem OK and the summer temperatures are moderating, and the winter so far has been a whole lot like my winter in County Clare back in the 1990s. Who knows, in 50 years we might be growing wheat in the NWT.

But I realize that what’s good for my locale is a whole world of hurt for hundreds of millions of people worldwide. And that’s why I started this in the first place, to keep abreast of humanity’s efforts to do something. I just hope the tech can win the race, but looking at these numbers, I have to admit, there is a bit of dread creeping into my thought processes.

Here on Energy Matters

Traffic continues to grow here on my little blog, with a hair under 40,000 visits in 2015, up from just under 30,000 in 2014. The two most popular posts, by far, were the optimizer roundup I did a while back and the slightly more recent article on the energy flows in electric cars. The next article in the list, with about half the hits, was the recent update on Enphase’s plans.

And while they might not have seen as much traffic as older posts, there’s a couple of posts that went up that I really enjoyed. I had a lot of fun writing this one, which in a way is an example of the anti-Matter2Energy. “It’s hopeless, wave your hands in the air and scream!” And this one on the carbon emissions of electric cars is similar, another example of, well, I don’t really know… why are people so down on these things. So for this year I’m hoping to concentrate a little more on these sorts of things.

As always, here’s the little overview that WordPress puts together. Enjoy!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

